

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

GRETCHEN WHITMER
GOVERNOR

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: January 28, 2021

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

Public School Academy Directors

FROM: William A. Pearson, Ed.D., Interim Deputy Superintendent

Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports

SUBJECT: Robotics Competition Grant Award Announcement

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) is announcing that robotics competition grants are being awarded this year. These grant funds are provided from section 99h of the state school aid act and will fund more than 2,800 FIRST Robotics, Square One, and VEX teams in 400 public school districts, both traditional local school districts and public school academies, and 58 nonpublic schools across the state.

Award letters to districts are generated in the Michigan Electronic Grant System (MEGS+). A list of recipients also can be found at https://www.techplan.org/edtech-initiatives/rdi/first-robotics/. Public school districts that have been awarded funds for the robotics competition grant will receive awards through the state aid management system (SAMs) in their February state aid payment. Nonpublic recipients will receive awards through SIGMA.

These funds will support districts in their pursuit to improve mathematics, science, and technology skills. Students will be able to participate in events hosted by the science and technology development program known as FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology), or other competitive robotics programs, including those hosted by the Robotics Education and Competition (REC) Foundation known as VEX, VEX IQ, and RAD, and Square One.

Congratulations to the successful applicants. For more information on the robotics competition grant and the awards, please contact Ashley Arras at ArrasA@michigan.gov or by phone at 517-241-6966.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance Confederation of Michigan Tribal Education Directors

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – PRESIDENT • PAMELA PUGH – VICE PRESIDENT TIFFANY D. TILLEY – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER JUDITH PRITCHETT – NASBE DELEGATE • ELLEN COGEN LIPTON NIKKI SNYDER • JASON STRAYHORN